Birds & The Bees Response

Our Rope-Idol, Graydancer, was entertaining the topic of sex education, aka ‘the birds and the bees’ that prompted this response from me:

I have an 11 year old daughter (going on 23) who just underwent the per-requisite ‘birds and bees day’ at school. She brought home the form, and giggled, and said ‘do I really have to do this? I already know all this stuff!”

I’m an RN, and she is my 3rd trip down the hormonal hell-train that is puberty, she’s been very educated about her body and we’ve started talking about sex (in a sex-positive way, of course!) She came home from ‘V-Day’ (Vagina Day) at school with a little package containing a pamphlet for her and one for me (on how/what to talk to my daughter about puberty) 2 pads, and a mini Secret deodorant. I started looking through the booklets, and it was like Nickelodeon and Disney combined to vomit all over the traditional material! So very upbeat about the whole ordeal! They went into a lot of detail about every, and I do mean EVERY possible symptom of puberty onset.
That all sounds pretty good, right? But as I kept reading there was NO mention of sex at all. Lots of info about pubescent changes (and the boys got the same deal in a separate room, of course), but NOTHING about masturbation/sex (although she did ask me about wet dreams…lol). The funny/tragic thing about the whole deal was they still talked about sex that day. On the playground at lunchtime, my daughter said the boys and girls compared booklets in their little cliques. (one of the boys apparently asked how he would know if he had an erection, and the teachers response was ‘it will be staring right back at you’…lol…the one-eyed-wonder-worm strikes again!) She says no one offered ‘show and tell’, but the majority of the conversation that was relayed to me was about how the two genders fit together in a sexual context. I answered all of her questions she garnered from her lunchtime schoolyard quorum, which she promptly ran to the computer to send off messages to her little pals to clarify their confusion as well. Since then, Ive kind of turned into the impromptu Dr. Ruth for her and her 6th grade pals! I figure as a nurse, at least I’m making sure they have accurate info (instead of the usual fallacies that are circulated at that age) but I was sad that even after revamping the whole ‘sex-ed day’ at school, they STILL are not covering safe sex, or sex at all for that matter. So I cant speak for anyone else, but I am spreading sex-positive education in our neck of the woods! lol

I ask myself as I sit here, why is the general consensus society-wide that sex is bad and should not be discussed? If you enjoy sex, in any of its many, many flavors, why wouldn’t you want to make sure your child enjoys something that is such an integral part of successful relationships? Certainly there should be some small constraint as to when a child is emotionally/physically mature enough to handle the content of such education.  But if we teach our children how to be kind and generous, manage money, take care of themselves physically, and drive a car, as well as a zillion other lessons taught by example every day, why shouldn’t they learn that amazing joy and fulfillment can be had and shared? Why DON’T we want our children to feel good?

I think society as a whole should get over their own discomfort about talking about sex, and quit leaving their children’s sex education to the internet and gossip circles at school. After all, everyone knows those are VERY credible sources of information.

Thanks for listening to my rant…you can read Gray’s original article here

xo

G

2 Responses

  1. Excellent rant!

    • That whole issue gets me going…they’ll talk about avoiding pregnancy and STD’s but never about any of the amazing things about sex and how to do it so that all involved enjoy it! lol…look…there I go again…heading this rant off at the pass!
      xoxo
      G

Leave a Reply

